In the Woods… is a Norwegian avant-garde black metal band from Kristiansand, formed in 1992. The band have released a total of five studio albums, three singles, one compilation album and one live album throughout its initial existence. The band disbanded in 2000 and reformed in 2014.

The band started out as a death metal band called Green Carnation. With some members leaving, including Terje Vik Schei (a.k.a. Tchort), the remaining members formed In the Woods… The band released a demo in 1993 called The Isle of Men, as well as a full-length album named Heart of the Ages in 1995. The following, Omnio, had lengthy songs with more female vocals. Their third album was Strange in Stereo.

In 2000, In the Woods… released the album Three Times Seven on a Pilgrimage, a compilation of three of their previous 7″ featuring covers from Pink Floyd, Jefferson Airplane and King Crimson, together with some newly released and rebuilt songs, like the new version of Child of Universal Tongue.

After releasing Three Times Seven on a Pilgrimage, the band held a farewell performance in their home town of Kristiansand which featured all musicians, including the former members. The performance was recorded and released as Live at the Caledonien Hall in 2003. Some of the members went on to play in the similarly-styled band Green Carnation, others took up personal projects and founded the independent label Karmakosmetix Records, created to support new experimental bands such as In the Woods… was in its time.

Anders Kobro announced the reformation of the band’s core lineup (Kobro, X. Botteri and C:M. Botteri) in 2014. 2015 was the year the newest lineup was announced, featuring Kobro, X. Botteri and C:M Botteri, James Fogarty and guitarist Kåre André Sletteberg.

Together, they released the album “Pure” in September 2016 under their new label, Debemur Morti Productions. Keyboard player Job Phenex Bos was joining them for shows during 2016 and 2017.

At the end of 2016, the Botteri brothers left the band leading onto Alex Weisbeek and Bernt Sørensen joining In the Woods… for bass and guitar sessions, but due to a long distance between the core of the band and Weisbeek, the band decided to hire in a local bass player by the name of Nils Olav Drivdal. Drivdal joined the band in December 2018 and played his first concert with the band in Kristiansand, March 2019.


  • Anders Kobro (drums, percussion)
  • James Fogarty (vocals, guitar, keyboards)
  • Kåre André Sletteberg (guitar)
  • Bernt Sørensen (guitar)
  • Nils Olav Drivdal (bass)


  • “Heart of the Ages” (1995)
  • “Omnio” (1997)
  • “Strange in Stereo” (1999)
  • “Pure” (2016)
  • “Cease the Day” (2018)