Initially a solo project, Frater D. decided to make a full band and recruited guitarist Åskväder in September 1999. During their first ten years of existence, a couple of albums were recorded and a handful of gigs were performed in their homeland of Chile. Various line-up changes occurred as well.

The band had a brief hiatus for various reasons, but in 2009 after resurfacing in Sweden and the city of Västerås, Hetroertzen’s first proclaimed full-length album Exaltation of Wisdom, was recorded at the band’s own studio. The line-up was then Frater D. on drums, bass and vocals and Åskväder on guitars. Exaltation of Wisdom was at first released on LP by Lamech Records and was limited to 500 blood-numbered copies. In November 2011 the group performed Exaltation of Wisdom in its entirety in their most important performance thus far; an event called Arosian Black Mass, where the band received highly positive critique from attendants. The band had the help from Kfzl on bass and Garghuf on drums. After their live debut at Arosian Black Mass, some line-up changes occurred, and Anubis got involved in the band as guitarist.

At the beginning of 2012 Frater D., Åskväder and Anubis went on to record new material for what would be used for a split album together with Norwegian devotees Dødsengel. The split, under the title Capax Infiniti, was positively received by fans and sold well. In October 2013 the band went out on their first ever tour, alongside black metal acts Troll and Dødheimsgard. The tour was a success for the band and they won over new fans from all around Europe. During 2014 Hetroertzen recorded material for a new full-length album which allowed them to stretch the boundaries of their already unique sound. Ain Soph Aur saw the light in December 2014 receiving a great response from fans and the media. Ain Soph Aur was released on CD, vinyl and cassette through collaboration with Lamech Records, Terratur Possessions and Amor Fati Productions.

At the beginning of 2015, Ham joined the band as a permanent bass player. In the fall of 2015 Hetroertzen visited the US for the first time and performed two exclusive shows in New York City and Baltimore along with Ominous Resurrection and their brethren LvxCaelis. Also in 2015, the band confirmed to do a one-week tour in October along with French devotees Malhkebre and Malepeste. The tour, baptised as Exaltation, Revelation, Dereliction tour reached different cities around France, Belgium, and the Netherlands.

In 2017 the band released their latest acclaimed full lenght “Uprising Of The Fallen” via Listenable records.


  • Frater D : Drums
  • Åskväder : Guitar
  • Anubis : Guitar / Vocals
  • Ham : Bass


  • “Flying Across the Misty Gardens” (2002)
  • “A Crimson Terrible Vision” (2003)
  • “Rex Averno” (2005)
  • “Exaltation of Wisdom” (2010)
  • “Ain Soph Aur” (2014)
  • “Uprising of the Fallen” (2017)